Where Love Is

Perfect way to start the day

Perfect way to start the day

This was how our first day of school started: with a rare chance for me to be alone with a cup of coffee and time in God’s Word.   And oh how I prayed.  And prayed.  The task that lies ahead can be overwhelming at times.  I desperately want what I’m doing to count for eternity.  More than schoolwork and housework, I want to do kingdom work.  I want that which will last.

photo-2

Like the glitter to the right of my mug in this picture.  That smudge is left over from an art project we did at this table TWO YEARS ago.  I was so amazed at the resiliency of the stuff that I wrote this post about it (Click here for a step back in time).  Now every time I sit at this table I’m reminded of all the fun I get to have learning with my boys (they happened to be learning about galaxies, I was learning to hate glitter).

So as I was reviewing pictures of our first couple days of school I started asking myself,  “Which of these things is going to count for eternity?”  Will it be the stacks of new school supplies they found hidden in their new hockey lockers (another dumpster score!!!)?

Gotta love free storage!

Gotta love free storage!

The surprise field trip to the free zoo in Hilo?

photo-4

The science lesson on Predators and Prey?

Thank you Apologia for the sweet little disclaimer warning more sensitive students about horrors of nature.  My boys laughed themselves silly through that part.

Thank you Apologia for the sweet little disclaimer warning more sensitive students about the horrors of nature. My boys laughed themselves silly through that part.

The special snack just to illustrate the point?

I'm thinking these guys are just a little too comfortable at the top of the food chain

I’m thinking these guys are just a little too comfortable at the top of the food chain

Sometimes it’s hard to see how ANY of it matters in the long run.  It’s like glitter in the wind.  A flash of shiny fun and then it’s gone.  Unless there’s glue around.  Then it’s stuck there forever.  Case in point again:  that glitter on the picnic table.  Wind, rain, blazing sun, and pounding ocean surf have done nothing to unstick those shiny little bits.

Colossians 3:14 tells us to above all, “put on love, which binds EVERYTHING together in perfect harmony.”  Love is the glue that makes all the glittery (and not-so-glittery) things we do for our kids really stick.   It’s what motivates, inspires, and sustains us to do this crazy 24/7 job.  It’s also what qualifies us to add the title “teacher” to the hundred other titles a mother wears.

1 Corinthians 13:1 says, “If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal.  And if I … understand all mysteries and all knowledge … but have not love, I am nothing.”  A lecture by the most learned professor, the flashiest curriculum, the most extravagant field trips are all glitter in the wind if not bound by love.  Tongues will cease and knowledge will pass away but “love never ends (v.8).”

Please Lord, I pray, let all that I do “be done in love (1 Cor. 16:14).

This pillow belongs to Tom's Mom who really, truly lives out those words everyday.

This pillow belongs to Tom’s Mom who really, truly lives out those words everyday.

 

14 thoughts on “Where Love Is

  1. This is Oma – I’m humbled by your comment . . . our Loving Savior remains faithful and He has provided His love to pour into your family in spectacular and bountiful ways . . . so blessed and grateful. Have a great school year!!

    Question – – where did you put the ‘hockey-storage-locker’?

    Like

    • Oh dear! You and my Dad are both logged into my account somehow so all your comments look like they’re coming from me! Hockey lockers were supposed to go on the lanai but they really wanted them in their room so that’s where they be 🙂

      Like

  2. Love the lockers!! Girl, today I failed big time with my attitude. I know you’ve done this longer than I have. How do you stay at peace with wild boys all around you. Sometimes I want to throw them all in the backyard and just have silence! Hmmm. Perhaps I should…

    Like

      • Ha! I used to do that all the time, but my new house has a backyard the size of a small bedroom. 😦 thankfully, my husband is building an extension to the fence and we ordered a trampoline which cannot get here soon enough!

        Like

  3. Love this. It is so easy to lose sight of why I homeschool– amidst the messes and meltdowns. In the end, it is love. Thankful that you found my blog, so I could find yours! Looking forward to following and gleaning from your adventure! God Bless!

    Like

  4. I’m so encouraged by this post! Thank you so much for sharing! I’m glad to be following your journey, all the way from South Carolina! 🙂 Blessings to you as you love on and teach your boys!

    Like

Leave a Reply

